pallet protection by two parallelly installed stretchers in goods receiving

Since 2002, A. Kempf Getränkegroßhandel GmbH is a 100 % subsidiary of Edeka Handelsgesellschaft Südwest mbH and beverage logistics provider for the Edeka food retailer in the South-West of Germany. The company runs two warehouses in Offenburg and Balingen. From the warehouse the wholesaler supplies 125 of the 600 customers per day with up to 110 routes. The first routes for the following day are handled in the afternoon, the following and shift change-over routes, however, are loaded in the morning to early afternoon of the supply day. During beverage season, 124,000 – at peak times up to 160,000 – palletized full-product packages, beverage crates, boxes and carriers are leaving the distribution center every day. To achieve such handling capacities, the company had its processes automated during full operation between January 2011 and June 2012.

Fully Automated Preparation for Shipment
As number one beverage logistics provider across Germany, Kempf presents a fully automated, two-phase preparation for shipment. The goods-shipping system was put into operation after only 6 months of implementation.

The Project

Relocation from order into tour buffer: SRMs separately handle each single pallet with special load-handling devices

With a novel plant design for a two-phase automated shipping buffer in the beverage industry, SSI SCHAEFER, Giebelstadt, implemented a concept for the beverage wholesaler A. Kempf in Balingen that doubles throughput and capacities and enables a route-friendly handling without standby times for trucks. The shipping section is therefore divided in two areas: an order and a tour buffer. The picked order pallets are forwarded to the pallet conveying system at two floor-level double-pallet in-feed stations and introduced to the automated process of the two-phase shipping buffer. The storable order pallets then pass through the stretchers and are provided with EAN-labels. They reach the respective storage level in the order buffer via vertical conveyors.

Tour buffer: Store-friendly compiled orders in goods shipping. The specific sequence of items

After the routes for the delivery of the customer orders were determined and the route schedule was fixed, a relocation of the pallets from the order into the tour buffer is done in the shipping buffer. Storage and retrieval machines (SRM) accept the pallets stored in the order buffer and relocate them to the channels of the tour buffer. Thus, the orders are compiled to optimal routes and allocated in the goods shipping area for a fast transfer. Meanwhile, a specific sequence for the provision of the tour channels is generated. Despite the lateral loading at the warehouse, the trucks are still loaded in such a way that an optimal discharge of the load from the rear of the truck is possible at delivery. By reduction of the set-up times, the automated processes at the labeling and relocation as well as the system induced order and tour compilations, Kempf was able to increase its throughput from 90 to 240 pallets per hour and to nearly double the capacity of the shipping buffer with 1,872 storing positions. The plant capacity of up to 160,000 colli per day covers further leaps in growth.

Statement of the customer
„ By adding automation and implementing a two-phase shipping process we were able to increase our process efficiency and ensure our daily readiness for delivery. With the implementation of an automated order and tour buffer we managed to time the provision of goods in such a way that the yard throughput times for trucks on peak days were optimized from formerly up to four hours to less than one hour. A harmonic, on-schedule course of the project with the implementation of a unique, innovative design with which an individual, highly efficient, fully automated solution was implemented that exceeded our requirements and has the potential to establish a new solution for the beverage industry. Therewith, the specialists of SSI SCHAEFER particularly demonstrated their know-how and process understanding for intra-logistics in the beverage industry. We are very pleased with the results.“

Christian Melchior, Divisional Managing Director of A. Kempf Getränkegroßhandel GmbH, Offenburg

Information and consulting
Information and consulting

Just give us a call:

+49 (0) 2735 701

We are going to help you!

... or send us an E-Mail

The project in detail

Our Scope of Supply and Services

  •  Project management
  •  Flow rack system
  •  Storage machines consisting
     of a combination of shuttle
     cars and storage and retrieval
  •  Pallet conveying system
  •  Pallet wrappers,
     labeling machines
  •  40 sequencing positions for
     future change of
     order sequence
  •  Plant visualization
  •  Warehouse
     Management System
  •  Training and documentation

Select country

Palettensicherung mittels zweier parallel installierter Wickelstretcher im Wareneingang

Seit 2002 ist die A. Kempf Getränkegroßhandel GmbH eine 100-prozentige Tochterfirma der Edeka Handelsgesellschaft Südwest mbH – und Getränke-Logistikdienstleister für den Edeka Lebensmitteleinzelhandel im Südwesten der Republik. Zwei Läger betreibt das Unternehmen in Offenburg und Balingen. Aus dem Lager in Balingen beliefert der Großhändler von seinen 600 Kunden pro Tag 125 – mit bis zu 110 Touren. Die Ersttouren für den Folgetag werden nachmittags, die Folge-/und Schichtwechseltouren hingegen am Morgen bis frühen Nachmittag des Ausliefertages verladen.  In der Getränkesaison verlassen täglich 124.000, an Spitzentagen bis zu 160.000 palettierte Vollgut-Kolli, Getränkekisten, -kartons und -träger, das Distributionszentrum. Um diese Umschlagleistung zu erreichen, hat das Unternehmen seine Prozesse zwischen Januar 2011 und Juni 2012 bei laufendem Betrieb automatisiert.

Vollautomatische Versandbereitstellung
Deutschlandweit wartet Kempf als erster Getränkelogistiker mit einer vollautomatischen, zweistufigen Versandbereitstellung auf. Nach nur 6 Monaten Realisierungszeit ist die Warenausgangsanlage in Betrieb gegangen.

Das Projekt

Umlagerung vom Auftrags- in den Tourenpuffer: Regalbediengeräte sorgen mit speziellen Lastaufnahmemitteln für das separate Handling jeder einzelnen Palette

Mit einer neuartigen Anlagenkonzeption für einen zweistufigen automatisierten Versandpuffer in der Getränkeindustrie hat SSI SCHÄFER für den Getränkegroßhändler
A. Kempf am Standort Balingen im laufenden Betrieb eine Lösung realisiert, die Durchsatz und Kapazitäten verdoppelt und eine filialengerechte Verladung ohne Wartezeiten für die Lkw ermöglicht. Dafür wurde der Lagerkomplex für den Warenausgang in zwei Bereiche unterteilt: einen Auftrags- und einen Tourenpuffer. Die kommissionierten Auftragspaletten werden an zwei bodenebenen Doppel-Paletten-Aufgabestationen an eine Fördertechnik übergeben und in den automatisierten Prozess des zweistufigen Versandpuffers eingeschleust. Die lagertauglichen Auftragspaletten durchlaufen anschließend die Wickelmaschinen und werden mit EAN-Labeln versehen. Über Senkrechtförderer gelangen sie auf die jeweilige Einlagerungsebene im Auftragspuffer.

Tourenpuffer: Filialgerecht zusammengestellte Aufträge im Warenausgangsbereich. Die spezi-elle Reihenfolge für die Bestückung der Tourenkanäle wurde zuvor vom LVS WAMAS generiert

Nachdem im Rahmen der Tourendisposition die Anfahrreihenfolge der Kundenaufträge der Versandtouren fixiert wurde, erfolgt im Versandpuffer eine Umlagerung der Paletten vom Auftrags- in den Tourenpuffer. Regalbediengeräte (RBG) übernehmen die im Auftragspuffer gelagerten Paletten und setzen diese in die Kanäle des Tourenpuffers um. Auf diese Weise werden die Aufträge zu optimalen Touren zusammen- und für eine schnelle Übergabe im Warenausgangsbereich bereitgestellt. Dabei wird eine spezielle Reihenfolge für die Bestückung der Tourenkanäle generiert. Sie ermöglicht es, dass die Lkw trotz seitlicher Verladung am Lagerstandort so beladen werden, dass bei der Auslieferung eine optimale, filialengerechte Heckentladung möglich ist. Durch Reduzierung der Rüstzeiten, die automatischen Prozesse bei Etikettierung und Umlagerung sowie die systemisch getriggerten Auftrags- und Tourenzusammenstellungen konnte Kempf seine Durchsatzleistung von 90 auf 240 Paletten pro Stunde steigern und die Kapazität des Versandpuffers mit 1.872 Stellplätzen nahezu verdoppeln. Dabei deckt die Anlagenkapazität von bis zu 160.000 Kolli pro Tag weitere Wachstumssprünge ab.

Statement des Kunden
„Durch Automation und Einrichtung einer zweistufigen Warenausgangsmimik konnten wir nicht nur die Prozesseffizienz steigern und unsere tagesfertige Lieferbereitschaft sichern. Mit der Implementierung eines automatisierten Auftrags- und Tourenpuffers erfolgt die Warenbereitstellung zudem derart getaktet, dass die Hofdurchlaufzeiten an Spitzentagen für die Lkw von früher bis zu vier Stunden auf geringer als eine Stunde Durchlaufzeit optimiert werden konnten. Ein harmonischer, termingerechter Projektverlauf mit Umsetzung einer einzigartigen, innovativen Konzeption, mit der eine individuelle, hocheffiziente, vollautomatische Lösung realisiert wurde, die unsere Anforderungen übertroffen hat und sich als Branchenlösung in der Getränkeindustrie etablieren kann. Damit haben die Spezialisten von SSI SCHÄFER ihr Know-how und Prozessverständnis für die Intralogistik in der Getränkeindustrie deutlich unter Beweis gestellt. Wir sind mit den Ergebnissen sehr zufrieden.“

Christian Melchior, Geschäftsbereichsleiter der A. Kempf Getränkegroßhandel GmbH, Offenburg


Fragen und Beratung
Fragen und Beratung

Rufen Sie uns gleich an:

+49 (0) 2735-701

Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

Anfrage per E-Mail

Das Projekt im Detail
Referenz-Video

Unser Liefer- und Leistungsumfang

  •  Projektmanagement
  •  Durchlaufregalanlage
  •  Lagerbediengeräte bestehend
     aus einer Kombination von
     Verschiebewagen und
     Regalbediengeräten
  •  Palettenfördertechnik
  •  Palettenwickelmaschinen,
     Etikettiermaschinen
  •  40 Sequenzierplätze zur
     nachträglichen Änderung der
     Auftragsreihenfolge
  •  Anlagenvisualisierung
  •  Lagerverwaltungssystem 
  •  Schulung und Dokumentation

Select country

Close