Tine SA

Dynamic Storage and Picking Systems for Optimized Dispatch of Dairy Products

Tine SA, located in Oslo, pursues ambitious goals. Norway’s largest producer of dairy products desired an expansion that enabled them to achieve sustainable cost reductions. Therefore, the cooperative, consisting of 15,000 Norwegian dairy producers, restructured and optimized its presence on the southwest coast. In Jæren, around 30 km south of Stavanger, the group of companies has erected one of the most modern production facilities. The dairy production was consolidated from four old production facilities from the nearby area into one, new 25,000 m² facility. 200 million liters of milk are processed every year.

The logistics of perishables, especially dairy products, present a special challenge when it comes to storage and picking. In addition to the temperature control requirements between +2° to +8° C, dairy products have a comparably shorter shelf life and minimum durability that require a rather high throughput which must be considered when developing these processes. They require short periods for the handling of logistics processes, a fast throughput and direct transports. The dynamic warehouse and picking system from SSI Schaefer optimized the throughput for Tine in the supply chain from farmer to refrigerated shelf.

  • Logistiksoftware WAMAS
  • Rollenbahn, die zugleich als Bereitstellungspuffer für knapp 30 Paletten dient

The Project

With the implementation of a temperature-controlled high-bay warehouse (HBW) for dairy products, SSI Schaefer has realized one of the most modern production and logistics systems for the Norwegian market leader Tine SA. With the implementation of automated processes, efficiency has increased 30 %. The project will enable the company to save up to 7 million Euros per year. Core piece of the facility is the temperature-controlled HBW.

Nearly 7,200 pallet storing positions are available in the four aisles of the warehouse complex. Four modern storage and retrieval machines carry out the storage and retrieval processes. They are optimally designed for the operation in temperature-controlled warehouses. The pallet-SRMs installed at Tine are equipped with a shuttle car as load handling device, which enables a three to four-fold deep storage in the rack channels. Tine places around 50 new products on the market every year, meaning that the change and the extension of the range of products require storage capacities and a logistics software that are designed with high flexibility and efficient processes.

Automated guided vehicles move the storage pallets from the adjoining production building into the distribution center. Navigated by laser, they forward the pallets in the production building to the conveying system in the HBW. Additional in-feed stations including vertical conveyors are available in front of the HBW. Two redundantly designed conveyor lines handle four in-feed and four out-feed spurs of the HBW. An additional roller conveyor also acts as provision buffer and serves the out-feed stations at the goods shipping gates. The roller conveyor is connected with the conveying system from the production area, meaning that order pallets can also be sent directly to the goods shipping area. The logistics software WAMAS is responsible for Tine’s goods receiving and shipping registration including loading control as well as stock and storing position management. For efficient order completion, WAMAS furthermore considers different retrieval strategies.

Fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS) befördern die Einlagerungspaletten aus dem angrenzenden Produktionsgebäude
  • Die von SSI Schäfer installierte Palettenfördertechnik umfasst mehr als 400 m.
  • Bei Tine installierte Paletten-RBG erzielen eine Leistung von 33 Doppelspielen bzw. 55 Einzelspielen pro h

Customer statement

“Our increased productivity requires intralogistic processes that are based on sustainability and efficiency. Therefore, we have constructed the new distribution center right next to the production facility. With the consolidation of production and storage facilities, and the new automated system, we expect to achieve great cost savings every year. The now consistently automated processes from production via storage to good shipping will be the key to reaching this goal. We are now saving many transports by the centralization of the warehouse locations and the automated processes in one of the most modern production and logistic systems. We are simultaneously increasing the throughput significantly and get extensive process reliability. At the current quantity, we are therefore expecting efficiency increases by 30 percent. Concerning performance and flexibility, the plant furthermore offers a capacity buffer for future growth. So the Jæren location is an important basis for our future growth.”

Ingvar Løge, Facility Manager of the new facility of Tine SA in Jæren

Data

 

Intralogistical key figures

Total picking area

20.000 m2

High-bay warehouse area

2.145 m2

Number of work stations (ws)

3 (2x NOK ws; 1x defoiling ws)

Items in the product line

more than 300

Throughput shipping

200 pallets per day

High-Bay Warehouse (HBW)

L x W x H

65 x 33 x 19 m

Loading aids

EURO and CHEP pallets

Storage positions

7.200

Weight

max. 1.200 kg

Type of storage

Three-fold/four-fold deep

Ambient air temperature

+ 5 °C

HBW – Storage and Retrieval Machine (SRM)

SRMs/aisles

4

Load handling device

Shuttle car

Traveling speed

170 m/min

Lifting speed

45 m/min

Throughput

33 double-cycles/h
55 single-cycles/h

Pallet Conveying System

Components

Roller conveyor, chain conveyor (total length 415 m), in-feed/out-feed station, vertical conveyor, pallet turn table, turning roller conveyor 90°, high speed doors

Warehouse Management System

Data base system

Oracle 11

Logistics software

WAMAS®

Functionalitites

  • Warehouse management
  • Goods receiving/shipping
  • Connection from production via AGVs
  • Support of production
  • Material flow control
  • Visualization
  • Radio data transmission system
Information and consulting
Information and consulting

Just give us a call:

+49 (0) 2735 701

We are going to help you!

... or send us an E-Mail

Our sector-specific references
The Projekt in detail

Select country

Close

Tine SA

Außenansicht Tine

Dynamische Lager- und Kommissioniersysteme für optimierten Umschlag von Milchprodukten

Tine SA mit Sitz in Oslo verfolgt ehrgeizige Ziele. Norwegens größter Hersteller von Milchprodukten setzt auf Expansion bei nachhaltiger Kostensenkung. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat die Kooperative, der 15.000 norwegische Milchproduzenten angeschlossen sind, ihre Präsenz an der Südwestküste neu strukturiert und optimiert. In Jæren, südlich von Stavanger, hat die Unternehmensgruppe eines seiner modernsten Produktionswerke errichtet. Inzwischen konzentriert die neue Molkerei auf dem 25.000 m2 großen Areal das Aufkommen von vier veralteten Produktionsstätten aus der näheren Umgebung. 200 Mio. Liter Milch werden dort pro Jahr verarbeitet.

Gerade Molkereiprodukte stellen die Lagerung und Kommissionierung vor besondere Herausforderungen. Neben der Temperaturführung zwischen +2 bis +8 °C sind bei den Prozessen unter anderem vergleichsweise kurze Restlaufzeiten bis zum Erreichen des Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatums und eine entsprechend hohe Umschlaghäufigkeit von Schnelldrehern zu beachten. Sie bedingen kurze Zeitspannen für die Abwicklung der Logistikprozesse, einen schnellen Umschlag und direkte Transporte. Hier sorgen Lösungen von SSI Schäfer mit dynamischen Lager- und Kommissioniersystemen für optimierten Umschlag in der Versorgungskette vom Landwirt bis zum Kühlregal.

  • Logistiksoftware WAMAS
  • Rollenbahn, die zugleich als Bereitstellungspuffer für knapp 30 Paletten dient

Das Projekt

Mit der Fertigstellung eines temperaturgeführten Hochregallagers für Molkereiprodukte realisierte SSI Schäfer für den norwegischen Marktführer Tine SA eine der modernsten Produktions- und Logistikanlagen. Mit durchgängig automatisierten Prozessen sorgt die Gesamtanlage für Effizienzsteigerungen in Höhe von 30 %. Das Gesamtprojekt soll der Unternehmensgruppe pro Jahr bis zu 7 Mio. Euro Kosteneinsparungen ermöglichen. Kernstück der Anlage ist das temperaturgeführte Hochregallager (HRL).

In den vier Gassen des Lagerkomplexes stehen knapp 7.200 Palettenstellplätze zur Verfügung. Die Ein- und Auslagerungsprozesse übernehmen vier moderne Regalbediengeräte, welche mit ihren Komponenten optimal auf den Betrieb in temperaturgeführten Lägern ausgerichtet sind. Die bei Tine installierten Paletten-RBG sind mit einem Verfahrwagen als Lastaufnahmemittel ausgestattet. Er ermöglicht eine drei- bis vierfachtiefe Lagerung in den Regalkanälen. Tine bringt pro Jahr rund 50 neue Produkte in den Markt. Der Wechsel und die Erweiterung der Produktpalette benötigen Lagerkapazitäten und eine auf hohe Flexibilität und effiziente Prozesse ausgelegte Logistiksoftware.

Fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS) befördern die Einlagerungspaletten lasernavigiert aus dem angrenzenden Produktionsgebäude und übergeben sie auf die Fördertechnik im Hochregallager. Weitere Aufgabeplätze samt Senkrechtförderern stehen vor dem HRL zur Verfügung. Zwei redundant ausgelegte Förderstrecken bedienen vier Ein- und vier Auslagerungsstiche des HRL. Eine weitere Rollenbahn bedient als Bereitstellungspuffer die Abnahmestellen an den Warenausgangstoren. Über sie können Auftragspaletten aus der Produktion auch direkt in den Warenausgangsbereich gelenkt werden. Die Logistiksoftware WAMAS sorgt bei Tine für die Warenein- und -ausgangserfassung inklusive Verladekontrolle sowie die Bestands- und Stellplatzverwaltung. Für die effiziente Auftragsfertigung berücksichtigt WAMAS überdies verschiedene Auslagerungsstrategien.

Fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS) befördern die Einlagerungspaletten aus dem angrenzenden Produktionsgebäude
  • Die von SSI Schäfer installierte Palettenfördertechnik umfasst mehr als 400 m.
  • Bei Tine installierte Paletten-RBG erzielen eine Leistung von 33 Doppelspielen bzw. 55 Einzelspielen pro h

Statement des Kunden

„Unsere gesteigerte Produktivität erfordert intralogistische Prozesse, die auf Zukunftsfähigkeit und Effizienz ausgelegt sind. Daher haben wir direkt neben dem Produktionswerk ein neues Logistikzentrum erbaut. Wir wollen mit der Gesamtanlage und der Konzentration der Produktions- und Lagerstätten pro Jahr große Kosteneinsparungen erzielen. Eine wichtige Säule zur Erreichung dieses Vorhabens ist eine hohe Verfügbarkeit mit durchgängig automatisierten Prozessen von der Produktion über die Lagerung bis zum Warenausgang. Durch die Zusammenlegung der Lagerstätten und die automatisierten Prozesse in einer der modernsten Produktions- und Logistikanlagen sparen wir viele Transporte. Gleichzeitig steigern wir den Durchsatz deutlich und erhalten umfassende Prozesssicherheit. In Summe gehen wir dadurch allein beim gegenwärtigen Aufkommen von Effizienzsteigerungen um 30 Prozent aus. Hinsichtlich Leistung und Flexibilität bietet uns die Anlage zudem einen Kapazitätspuffer für künftiges Wachstum. Damit ist der Standort Jæren eine wichtige Grundlage für unser künftiges Wachstum."

Ingvar Løge, Betriebsleiter des Logistikzentrums von Tine SA in Jæren

Data

 

Intralogistische Kennzahlen 

Fläche Kommissionierhalle

20.000 m2

Fläche Hochregallager

2.145 m2

Anzahl der Arbeitsplätze

3 (2x NIO AP; 1x Defolier AP)

Anzahl der Artikel im Sortiment

über 300

Durchsatzleistung Warenausgang

200 Paletten/Tag

Hochregallager (HRL)

L x B x H

65 x 33 x 19 m

Ladehilfsmittel

EURO und CHEP Paletten

Stellplätze

7.200

Gewicht

max. 1.200 kg

Lagerart

dreifach-/vierfachtief

Umgebungstemperatur

+ 5 °C

HRL – Regalbediengerät (RBG)

RBG/Gassen

4

Lastaufnahmemittel

Verfahrwagen

Fahrgeschwindigkeit

170 m/min

Hubgeschwindigkeit

45 m/min

Umschlagleistung

33 Doppelspiele /
55 Einzelspiele pro Stunde

Palettenfördertechnik

Komponenten

Rollenbahn, Kettenförderer (Gesamtlänge 415 m), Auf-/Abgabestation, Senkrechtförderer, Eckumsetzer, Drehrollenbahn 90°, Schnelllauftore

Lagerverwaltungssystem

Datenbanksystem

Oracle 11

Logistiksoftware

WAMAS®

Funktionalitäten

  • Lagerverwaltung
  • Wareneingang/-ausgang
  • Produktionsanbindung per AGV
  • Produktionsunterstützung
  • Materialflusssteuerung
  • Visualisierung
  • Datenfunksystem
Fragen und Beratung
Fragen und Beratung

Rufen Sie uns gleich an:

+49 (0) 2735-701

Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

Anfrage per E-Mail

Unsere Branchen-Referenzen
Das Projekt im Detail

Select country

Close