Kühne + Nagel Gruppe

Hochregallager von SSI SCHÄFER

The ongoing trend in inventory management leads to outsourcing logistic services. The contractors attend to their core business while storage and distribution are assigned to specialized service providers.

With approximately 63,000 employees at more than 1,000 locations in over 100 countries, the Kuehne + Nagel Group is one of the world’s leading logistics companies. Worldwide, the company offers its customers around 7 million m² of storage space – nearly 33,000 m² in the Dutch city of Utrecht. Here the company has recently constructed its new, national distribution center for food.

Within a few months, the intra-logistics specialist SSI Schaefer built for the contract service provider a multi-client distribution center with a throughput of up to 220 pallets per hour and versatile technical features, which are unparalleled amongst competitors. From the integration of new, innovative layer-picking robots for the automatic layer picking to an electric pallet conveyor for the internal transport as well as a 12-aisle high-bay warehouse (HBW) with a Schaefer Orbiter System (SOS) and 2-side redundant access on the rack channels up to an intelligent material flow control for storage and retrieval, picking, and crossdocking an outstanding solution in efficiency, availability, and process reliability.

The project

In the central Dutch distribution center Lage Weide in Utrecht of the Logistics Service Provider Kuehne + Nagel, SSI Schaefer has created a flexible, highly dynamic solution with more efficient processes by creating innovative system combinations and intelligent material flows. With the Orbiter shuttle, functions of a deep-lane storage system have been integrated into a 12-aisle high-bay warehouse for food. The use of layer picking robots with innovative gripping technology enables automated layer picking. The tailored logistics software provides a sequenced control of the complex material flows.

  • Elektropalettenbahn für den innerbetrieblichen Transport

A special feature is the single rack channels offering space for 5 consecutive Euro pallets or 4 industry pallets whose storing positions can be handled from 2 aisles lying side by side. The rack channels are separated in dynamic FIFO-uniform semi-channels. Thus, the front pallets can always be retrieved after loading the channel without needing any relocation. The combination of storage and retrieval machines (SRM) and Orbiter shuttles as load handling devices results in higher flexibility and efficiency. After acceptance of the pallets, the SRM moves the pallet into the aisle and stops in front of the rack channel defined by the logistics software. There, the Orbiter shuttle lifts the pallet and moves it to the defined destination position in the channel. Compared to conventional deep-lane storage systems, the flexibility on item variety is significantly higher in the dynamic deeplane storage system.

  • SSI SCHÄFER Orbiter Schuttle

The transport of the goods-receiving pallets to the transfer positions for the storage and retrieval machines is handled by the electric rail system. It forwards the goods received to the storage spurs for the SRMs or – for the cross-docking – on the provision spurs for the goods shipping or to the connected picking stations. The conveying system directly leads the pallets to shipping or to the automatic layer picking. Two robots which are equipped with special gripping systems pick the items layer by layer from up to two source pallets on one of the target pallets. The order pallets picked that are ready for shipping at the robot stations are moved by the conveying system back to the provision conveyor and into goods shipping. Five transfer stations are implemented at the end of the conveying system. Forklifts accept the order pallets ready for shipment in the dispatch area and move them to the respective provision zone at the goods shipping gates.

Technical data

High-Bay Warehouse (HBW)

L x W x H

114 x 82 x 34 m

Loading aids

EURO and INDU pallets

Storage positions

43,700 EURO pallets or 35,900 INDU pallets

Weight

max. 1.200 kg

Type of storage

Up to 5-fold deep

Air temperature

Ambient

HBW – Storage and Retrieval Machine (SRM)

SRMs/aisles

12

Load handling device

Orbiter®

Traveling speed

180 m/min.

Lifting speed

60 m/min.

Throughput

220 pallets/h

Pallet Conveying System

Components:

Roller conveyor, chain conveyor, in-feed/out-feed station,
pallet turn table, turning roller conveyor 90°, shuttle car,
pallet stacker/de-stacker, pallet stacking station

Warehouse Management System

Data base system

Oracle S

Logistics software

SSI Schaefer

Functionalities

Warehouse management
Goods receiving/shipping
Order picking
Material flow control
Visualization
Radio data transmission system

  • Lagerlogistik von SSI SCHÄFER

Customer statement

“By combining the SRM and Orbiter shuttles as load handling devices, we were able to integrate the function of a deep-lane storage system into the HBW which offered additional process improvements for food stock with best-before dates. We take care of four clients in the new distribution center. Due to the plant design, we are able to send full pallets or picked pallets. The fully automated compilation of the pick pallets is done with two robots. The design of the layer picking robots as well as the design and control of the flows of goods around the robots are considered a core piece of the entire plant. They were important decision criteria when awarding the order to SSI Schaefer. In this connection, it played a large role that SSI Schaefer could offer both the design, the conveying system and also the logistics software from one source as well as the HBW and the electrical rail system. With the specific specialties of plant technology and process control, SSI Schaefer has implemented a highly flexible and significantly efficient distribution center in Utrecht. The timely course of the project reaffirms our decision to place the contract for such a complex project to SSI Schaefer. The solution provides sustainability in equipment and capacity which will allow for further growth. We are absolutely pleased with the results.”

John Pelzer, Technical Manager, Kuehne + Nagel Netherlands

Fragen und Beratung
Fragen und Beratung

Rufen Sie uns gleich an:


+49 (0) 2735-701


Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

Anfrage per E-Mail

The project in detail

Intralogistische Merkmale

Total picking area:
22,626 m2

High-bay warehouse area:
9,348 m2

Items in the product line
approx. 4.000

Throughput:
220 pallets per hour

Picking aids:
Scanner

Picking principle:
Automatic layer picking

Select country

Close

Kühne + Nagel Gruppe

Hochregallager von SSI SCHÄFER

Mehrwert durch Prozesssicherheit

Der Trend in der Warenwirtschaft geht zum Outsourcing logistischer Leistungen. Die Auftraggeber kümmern sich um ihr Kerngeschäft, die Lagerung und Distribution vergeben sie hingegen an spezialisierte Dienstleister.

Mit ca. 63.000 Mitarbeitern in über 1.000 Niederlassungen in mehr als 100 Ländern ist die Kühne + Nagel Gruppe einer der weltweit führenden Logistikunternehmen. Insgesamt rund 7 Mio. m² Lagerfläche bietet das Unternehmen seinen Kunden weltweit – gut 33.000 m² davon im niederländischen Utrecht. Hier hat das Unternehmen kürzlich sein neues, nationales Distributionszentrum für Lebensmittel erbaut.

Innerhalb weniger Monate realisierte SSI Schäfer eine multi-mandantenfähige Logistikanlage mit einem Durchsatz von bis zu 220 Paletten pro Stunde, die mit ihren vielfältigen technischen Besonderheiten ihresgleichen sucht. Von der Integration innovativer Lagen-Pick-Roboter über eine Elektropalettenbahn sowie einem Hochregallager mit einem Schäfer Orbiter System (SOS) und 2-seitigem redundanten Zugriff auf die Regalkanäle bis hin zur intelligenten Materialfluss- Steuerung für Ein- und Auslagerung, Kommissionierung und Crossdocking eine in ihrer Effizienz, Verfügbarkeit und Prozesssicherheit herausragende Lösung.

Das Projekt

Im zentralen niederländischen Distributionslager Lage Weide in Utrecht des Logistikdienstleisters Kühne + Nagel hat SSI Schäfer durch innovative Systemkombination und intelligente Materialflüsse eine flexible, hochdynamische Lösung mit effizienteren Prozessen realisiert. Mit dem Orbiter®-Shuttle wurden Funktionen eines Kanallagers in ein 12-gassiges Hochregallager für Lebensmittel integriert. Der Einsatz von Lagen-Pick-Robotern mit innovativer Greiftechnik ermöglicht ein automatisiertes Lagen-Picking. Die exakt zugeschnittene Logistiksoftware sorgt für eine sequenzierte Steuerung der komplexen Warenflüsse.

  • Elektropalettenbahn für den innerbetrieblichen Transport

Eine Besonderheit des Hochregallagers (HRL) sind die einzelnen Regalkanäle, welche Platz für 5 Europaletten bzw. 4 Industriepaletten hintereinander bieten, deren Stellplätze von 2 nebeneinander liegenden Gängen aus bedient werden können. Auf diese Weise können nach dem Bestücken der Kanäle immer die vordersten Paletten entnommen werden, ohne dass Umlagerungen notwendig sind. Die Kombination von Regalbediengerät (RBG) und Orbiter-Shuttle als Lastaufnahmemittel sorgt hierbei für maximale Flexibilität und höchste Effizienz. Nach Übernahme der Paletten verfährt das RBG die Palette in der Gasse und stoppt vor dem vorgegebenen Regalkanal. Dort hebt das Shuttle die Palette an und verfährt sie auf die vorgegebene Zielposition im Kanal. Im Vergleich zum herkömmlichen Kanallager ist die Flexibilität auf Artikelvielfalt im dynamischen Kanallager deutlich höher.

Intralogitik bei Kühne + Nagel
  • SSI SCHÄFER Orbiter Schuttle

Den Transport der Wareneingangspaletten zu den Übergabeplätzen an die RBG übernimmt die Elektrobodenbahn. Sie führt die Wareneingänge zu den Einlagerungsstichen für die RBG oder – für das Crossdocking – auf die Bereitstellungsbahnen für den Warenausgang bzw. zu den angebundenen Pickstationen. Die Fördertechnik führt die Paletten direkt zur Versandfertigung oder zur automatischen Lagenkommissionierung. Zwei mit speziellen Greifsystemenen ausgestattete Roboter heben bis zu zwei Lagen von der Quellpalette auf eine der Zielpaletten. Die an Roboterplätzen versandfertig kommissionierten Auftragspaletten werden von der Fördertechnik zurück auf die Bereitstellungsbahnen und Richtung Warenausgang geführt. Am Ende der Förderstrecke sind fünf Abnahmestellen eingerichtet. Dort übernehmen Stapler die versandfertigen Auftragspaletten und befördern sie in die entsprechende Bereitstellungszone an den Warenausgangstoren.

Technische Daten

Hochregallager (HRL)

L x B x H

114 x 82 x 34 m

Ladehilfsmittel

EURO und INDU Paletten

Stellplätze

43.700 EURO Paletten oder 35.900 INDU Paletten

Gewicht

max. 1.200 kg

Lagerart

bis 5-fachtief

Umgebungstemperatur

normal

HRL – Regalbediengerät (RBG)

RBG/Gassen

12

Lastaufnahmemittel

Orbiter®

Fahrgeschwindigkeit

180 m/min.

Hubgeschwindigkeit

60 m/min.

Umschlagleistung

220 Paletten/h

Palettenfördertechnik

Komponenten:

Rollenbahn, Kettenförderer, Auf-/Abgabestation, Eckumsetzer, Drehrollenbahn 90°, Verschiebewagen, Palettenstapler-/entstapler, Palettenstapelrichtstation

Lagerverwaltungssystem

Datenbanksystem

Oracle S

Logistiksoftware

SSI Schäfer

Funktionalitäten

Lagerverwaltung
Wareneingang/-ausgang
Kommissionierung
Materialflusssteuerung
Visualisierung
Datenfunksystem

  • Lagerlogistik von SSI SCHÄFER

Statement des Kunden

"Mit der Kombination aus RBG und Orbiter-Shuttles als Lastaufnahmemittel konnten wir die Funktion eines Kanallagers in das HRL integrieren, was uns angesichts des Lagergutes Lebensmittel mit einem Mindesthaltbarkeitsdatum weitere Prozessverbesserungen bot. In dem neuen Distributionszentrum betreuen wir vier Mandanten. Durch die Anlagenkonzeption können wir für sie Ganzpaletten oder kommissionierte Paletten versenden. Die Zusammenstellung der Kommissionierpaletten erfolgt vollautomatisch an zwei Roboterplätzen. Die Konzeption der Lagen-Pick-Roboter selbst sowie die Gestaltung und Steuerung der Warenflüsse rund um die Roboter herum betrachten wir als Kernstück der gesamten Anlage. Sie waren für uns ein wichtiges Entscheidungskriterium für die Auftragsvergabe an SSI Schäfer. In diesem Zusammenhang spielte es eine große Rolle, dass SSI Schäfer neben HRL und Elektrobodenbahn sowohl die Konzeption als auch die Fördertechnik und die Logistiksoftware aus einer Hand anbieten konnte. Mit den spezifischen Besonderheiten von Anlagentechnik und Prozessteuerung hat SSI Schäfer für uns in Utrecht ein hochflexibles und äußerst effizientes Distributionszentrum realisiert. Der termingerechte Projektverlauf bestätigt unsere Entscheidung, den Auftrag für ein derart komplexes Projekt an die Logistikspezialisten zu vergeben. Die in Ausstattung und Kapazitäten zukunftsfähige Lösung bietet uns die Basis für weiteres Wachstum. Wir sind mit den Ergebnissen absolut zufrieden.“

John Pelzer, Technischer Manager, Kühne + Nagel Niederlande

Fragen und Beratung
Fragen und Beratung

Rufen Sie uns gleich an:


+49 (0) 2735-701


Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

Anfrage per E-Mail

Das Projekt im Detail

Intralogistische Merkmale

Fläche Kommissionierhalle:
22.626 m2

Fläche Hochregallager:
9.348 m2

Artikel im Sortiment:
ca. 4.000

Durchsatzleistung:
220 Paletten pro Stunde

Kommissionierhilfen:
Scanner

Kommissionierprinzip:
Automatische Lagenkommissionierung

Select country

Close