Order picking with pick-by-voice

In case your printer runs out of ink, you can’t just switch to writing by hand. Customers therefore expect office supplies to be available upon short notice and want them delivered quickly. In a large country – such as France – this is a challenge to be met only with high-performing logistics equipment.

UFP, a French mail order company for office supplies, has made the fast fulfilment of orders a primary objective. The company awarded the contract to equip a new logistics centre to SSI Schaefer, expecting to receive a turnkey system highly customised to its particular requirements. The individual components were supposed to interact without interface conflicts, in order to facilitate deliveries within 48 hours.

Objectives of the project:

  • Throughput capacity of 50,000 packages per day
  • Greater transparency and control in warehouse processes
  • Delivery to customers within 48 hours of order receipt
Replenishments for the carton live storage rack

Upon completion of the facility, 29,000 sqm of storage space are now available. Aside from type PR 600 pallet racks, the facility features a shelving system (R3000) and carton live storage.

Considering that the stored items are rather small, for example toner / ink cartridges, the racking system with its 12,000 pallet storage positions can accommodate an enormous amount of goods. But it’s not just the size; the company now also achieves outstanding results when it comes to speed. With its new logistics centre, UFP manages to dispatch up to 3,500 packages per hour. A combination of different order picking methods is the driving force behind this.

A-Frame order picking system

UFP uses an A-frame high-speed picking system to pick small items. The staff refills the A-frame from a carton live storage rack. Order pickers work with a pick-by-voice system to pick larger items directly onto a conveyor. In order to reduce error rates in delivery, all the cartons have to pass a control point with a scale and photographic recording of its content. A central warehouse management system supervises the entire material flow in the facility.

We have more information available on this project and the technologies used in it. Please follow the links on the right or contact us directly.

Information and consulting
Information and consulting

Call us directly:

+49 (0) 2735 701

We are here to help

Request by E-Mail

Need more information?

Feedback from our customer:

“We wanted to utilise the services of a single supplier to equip our warehouse. SSI Schaefer provided us with a quotation that met our requirements completely and in full.” Thierry Wolff, facility director at UFP

Select country

Close

Kommissionieren mit Pick-by-Voice

Wenn die Druckerpatrone leer ist, kann man nicht einfach per Hand weiterschreiben. Deshalb erwarten die Kunden, dass bestellte Büromaterialien kurzfristig verfügbar sind und rasch versendet werden. In einem Flächenland wie Frankreich ist das eine Herausforderung, die nur mit einer leistungsfähigen Logistik zu schaffen ist.

UFP, ein französischer Versandhändler von EDV-Material, hat sich die schnelle Auftragsausführung zum Ziel gesetzt. Das Unternehmen vergab den Auftrag zur Ausstattung eines neuen Logistikzentrums an SSI Schäfer, um ein Komplettsystem zu bekommen, das genau auf die Bedürfnisse abgestimmt ist. Die einzelnen Komponenten sollten ohne Schnittstellenkonflikte funktionieren, um die Lieferung innerhalb von 48-h zu ermöglichen.

Ziele des Projektes:

  • Bearbeitungskapazität von 50.000 Packstücken pro Tag
  • Mehr Transparenz und Kontrolle bei den Lagerprozessen
  • Belieferung der Kunden innerhalb von 48 Stunden nach Auftragseingang
Nachschub für das Kolli-Durchlaufregal

Nach Fertigstellung der Anlage stehen jetzt insgesamt 29.000 m² Lagerfläche bereit. Außer den Palettenregalen vom Typ PR600 gehören eine Fachbodenregalanlage R3000 und ein Kolli-Durchlaufregal zu Einrichtung.

Wenn man bedenkt, dass die einzelnen Artikel eher klein sind, z.B. Tonerkartuschen und Druckerpatronen, lagert die Regalanlage mit 12.000 Palettenstellplätzen eine enorme Menge an Gütern. Aber nicht nur bei der Größe, sondern auch bei der Geschwindigkeit erreicht das Unternehmen hervorragende Werte. Inzwischen fertigt UFP mit der neuen Logistikanlage bis zu 3.500 Packstücke pro Stunde ab. Das schafft die Anlage mit einer Kombination aus verschiedenen Kommissioniermethoden.

A-Frame Kommissionierer

Für kleine Artikel setzt UFP auf einen A-Frame Hochleistungskommissionierer, den die Mitarbeiter aus einem Kolli-Durchlaufregal nachfüllen. Größere Produkte entnehmen die Kommissionierer per Pick-by-Voice aus dem Kolli-Durchlaufregal und legen sie direkt auf eine Förderstrecke. Um die Fehlerquote in der Belieferung zu senken, durchlaufen die Kartons eine Kontrollstelle mit Waage und fotografischer Registrierung des Inhalts. Den Materialfluss der Anlage steuert ein zentrales Warehouse Management System.

Wir haben weitere Informationen für Sie bereitgestellt. Sie erfahren mehr über dieses Projekt und die dort verwendeten Technologien, wenn Sie den Links in der rechten Spalte folgen oder direkt mit uns Kontakt aufnehmen.

Fragen und Beratung
Fragen und Beratung

Rufen Sie uns gleich an:

+49 (0) 2735 701

Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

Anfrage per E-Mail

Das Projekt im Detail:

Statement unseres Kunden

“Wir wollten einen einzigen Lieferanten nutzen, um unseren gesamtes Lager auszustatten. SSI Schäfer hat uns mit einer Lösung überzeugt, die unsere Anforderungen voll und ganz erfüllt hat.”

Thierry Wolff, Facility Director bei UFP

Select country

Close