Starting the order

With its roughly 1,800 sales outlets, Optic 2000 is the market leader of the French optics industry. Customers may have their spectacles delivered directly to the stores for pick-up. Audioptic, a subsidiary of Optic 2000, had previously consolidated 4 minor logistics facilities into one central centre in Clamart, France. Now, the task was to optimize this facility in order to shorten the time required from order receipt to dispatch.

The challenge arose from the fact that the company places different requirements on its order picking system. Spectacles assembly relies on a steady inflow of material, whereas the stores produce infrequent demands, with a peak around late afternoon. The company intended to optimize the facility’s workload under these circumstances.

Objectives of the project:

  • Increase the production capacity without expanding the workforce
  • Handle the goods-in of 15 to 20 suppliers every day
  • Dispatch and deliver all orders that come in before 18:30 before 9:00 on the following day
  • Fulfil the needs of 1,800 outlets
  • Order picking of 900 totes per hour and 19,000 SKUs
  • Implementing an interface with production through tray conveying
  • Connecting the system with SAP
Double-sided live storage shelves

SSI Schaefer set up a conveyor system with 9 spurs. At the start of a new order, the operator has to choose whether it’s an order for a sales outlet or for production. The tote then passes through as many spurs as required. After each station, the staff sends the tote to its next destination.

Order picking

Furthermore, a special solution was necessary so that the totes for the sales outlets and the trays for production can run on the same conveyor and get picked together. Information about the occupancy of the spurs allows the staff to start new orders according to the current workload of the system.

The new order picking system achieves all the goals of the project and makes sure that Audioptic and the Optic 2000 group can expand further.

There is more information available on this project and the technologies we used. Please download the PDF version of the case study or contact us directly.

Information and consulting
Information and consulting

Just give us a call:

+49 (0) 27 35 / 70- 232

We are going to help you!

... or send us an E-Mail

Applied components:

Need more information?

„SSI SCHAEFER most accurately processed our request for proposal. From a technical point of view, SSI SCHAEFER was the only company that could guarantee a successful integration of the existing shelves into the conveying system.“
Stéphane Lemaire, Head of Logistics at AudiOptic

Select country

Auftragsstart

Mit über 1.800 Verkaufsstellen ist Optic 2000 Marktführer der französischen Optikerbranche. Die Kunden lassen sich Brillen direkt in die Läden liefern und holen sie dort ab. Audioptic (eine Konzern-Tochter) hatte zuvor 4 kleinere Logistik-Standorte zu einem einzelnen (in Clamart, Frankreich) zusammengefasst und wollte diese Anlage dann so optimieren, dass die Zeit zwischen Auftragsannahme und Auslieferung stark verkürzt wird.

Die Herausforderung bestand deshalb darin, die unterschiedlichen Anforderungen zu berücksichtigen, die das Unternehmen an die Kommissionierung stellt. Die Brillenfertigung braucht einen konstanten Zufluss an Material. Die Verkaufsstellen dagegen lösen üblicherweise eine stark schwankende Nachfrage aus, mit der Auslastungsspitze am späten Nachmittag. Unter diesen Voraussetzungen wollte das Unternehmen die Auslastung der Anlage optimieren.

Ziele des Projektes:

  • Steigerung der Produktionskapazität ohne Personalaufstockung
  • Tägliche Wareneingangsverwaltung von 15 bis 20 Lieferanten
  • Ausliefern der vor 18:30 Uhr eingehenden Aufträge noch vor 9:00 Uhr des Folgetages
  • Erfüllung der Anforderungen von 1.200 Verkaufsstellen
  • Kommissionierung von 900 Behältern/Std. und 19.000 SKU
  • Erstellen einer Schnittstelle mit der Produktionseinheit durch Beförderung der Tablare
  • Verbindung des Systems mit SAP
Doppelseitige Durchlaufregale

SSI Schäfer installierte dafür ein Fördersystem mit neun Stichbahnen. Beim Start einer Auftragsbearbeitung kann der Mitarbeiter auswählen, ob es sich um einen Auftrag der Verkaufsstellen oder der Produktion handelt. Der Behälter durchläuft dann bis zu neun der Stichbahnen. Nach jeder Bearbeitung schicken die Mitarbeiter den Behälter zur jeweils nächsten Stichbahn weiter.

Kommissionierung

Außerdem war eine Sonderlösung nötig, damit die Behälter für die Verkaufsstellen und die Tablare für die Fertigung auf derselben Bahn laufen und gemeinsam kommissioniert werden können. Informationen über die Belegung der Stichbahnen ermöglichen den Mitarbeitern, die neuen Aufträge entsprechend der Systemauslastung zu starten.

Das neue Kommissionier-System erfüllt alle Ziele des Projekts und sorgt dafür, dass Audioptic und der Konzern Optic 2000 weiter expandieren können.

Zu diesem Projekt stehen weitere Informationen bereit. Bitte laden Sie sich die Case Study als PDF herunter oder nehmen Sie direkt Kontakt mit uns auf.

Fragen und Beratung
Fragen und Beratung

Rufen Sie uns gleich an:

+49 (0) 2735-701

Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

Anfrage per E-Mail

Eingesetzte Komponenten:

Die Case Study zum Projekt

"SSI SCHÄFER hat unsere Angebotsanfrage mit größter Sorgfalt bearbeitet. Aus technischer Sicht war SSI SCHÄFER das einzige  Unternehmen, das uns eine Garantie für das Gelingen der Einbindung der Regale in das Fördersystem gab."
Stéphane Lemaire, Logistikleiter bei AudiOptic

Select country

Close